Welcome, Guest! | Login
Hobbs Municipal Schools
All children will learn.
Science Olympiad Teams Compete
Science Olympiad Teams Compete
Posted on 1800/01/01

      Hobbs secondary schools returned from last weekend’s Regional Science Olympiad competition in Roswell with hardware in tow.
   Hobbs High School finished in second place at the contest – just behind champion New Mexico Military Institute - while Hobbs Freshman High School – which competed in the high school category – was fifth overall.
  Houston Middle School’s A team had a third-place finish and Highland Middle School was seventh.
  As a result, HHS, FHS, Houston and Highland will go on to compete at the state Science Olympiad competition later this year in Socorro.
  science Although Heizer wasn’t a top finisher, students Jose Alvarez and Andrea Estrada placed second in the Scrambler competition.  The following is a list of students who finished in the top three spots in the competition categories which comprise Science Olympiad:
   Hobbs High School –  First Place: Anatomy, Kunal Mankad, Bridge Building, Jarred McGraw, Cell Biology, Samuel Hafer, Electric Vehicle, Samuel Hafer and Kunal Mankad, Fossils, Jackson Driskill and Colby Coleman, Protein Modeling, Brooke Dunn and Samuel Hafer, Wright Stuff, Brenden Strickland, Write It, Do It, Amy Vejil and Ashton Ebert; Second Place: Bridge Building, Briton Dunn; Third Place: Air Trajectory, Hunter Graham and Diego Hernandez, Chemistry Lab, David Tackett and Brooke Dunn, Dynamic Planet, Hannah Miller, Geologic Mapping, Jarred MaGraw, Hydrogeology, Ashton Ebert and Emily Weiss.
   Freshman High School – First Place: Robot Arm, Jay Nelson and Robert Salgado; Second Place: Wind Power, Mya Muro and Jordan McGraw; Third Place: Experimental Design, Claire Gleghorn, Suzanne Driskill and Zakaya Benge, Electric Vehicle, Jordan McGraw and Evan Gray.
   Houston Middle School – First Place: Air Trajectory, Miranda Acosta and Kaleb Hobbs,  Anatomy, Brevin McCool and Kenzie Mills, Invasive Species, Rose Baijense and Kaleb Hobbs, Road Scholar, Jacob Blackman and Kylie Boydston; Second Place: Bottle Rocket, Channin Gray and Shelly Driskill, Dynamic Planet, Brayden Strickland and Jared Cruz, Mission Possible, Jacquline Thornell and Keaton Emrick, Reach for the Stars, Jonathan Salgado and Connor Roberson, Road Scholar, Matthew Juarez and Jacquline Thornell, Wind Power, Dexter Nelson and Keaton Emrick; Third Place: Mission Possible, Brevin McCool and Sierra Seed, Scrambler, Brayden Strickland and Jared Cruz, Wind Power, Brevin McCool and Narges Sadeghmoghaddam, Write It Do It, Jonathan Salgado and Narges Sadeghmoghaddam.
   Highland Middle School – First Place: Bridge Building, Juan Moreno and Brian Garcia; Second Place: Elastic Launch Glider, Brian Garcia and Logan Lynsky; Third Place: Experimental Design, Elizabeth Honigmann, Alaia Johnson and Elysha Garcia.



Meet Our New Teachers
Meet Our New Teachers2
Homecoming Candidates Announced
Test Scores Improve
Assistant Principals Announced
Orientation and Meet the Teacher Activities Planned
New Principals Announced
Hawkins named Personnel Director of the Year
Teacher Goes Extra Mile for Student
Peters Recognized for Student Service
Spring Homecoming Redesigned
HMS Maintenance Department Wins Big
2015 Homecoming Candidates
Stone Names New Principal
HHS Junior Makes History
Parks Named Superintendent of the Year
2015 Essay Winners Announced
Hobbs students compete at State Science Olympiad
SkillsUSA Swings into Service
Hightower to Lead Sanger
HHS Science Olympiad Finishes Third in Regionals
Get Shots Now for Kindergarten Registration
Turrubiates Named Principal at Murray
New School Zones to be Discussed
Anti-Bullying Program Here Next Week
Nineteen Nominated for Homecoming Queen
More Promotions Announced
2014 Veteto Winners Honored
Essay Winners Announced
MathCounts team headed to state
Three Students Win State Music Contest
State Science Olympiad Results
HHS takes first in Regional Science Olympiad
Promotions Announced
Response to Roswell School Violence
2013 Homecoming Queen Candidates Announced
A Report on 2013 School Grade Designations
Players from State Champion Football Teams Hold Reunion
Will Rogers Family Gets New Home
Students Get Behind the Scenes Look at State Government
HHS Science Olympiad Wins Regionals
HHS Seniors Vote in First Election
Schools Dealing with Increased Enrollment
2012 Homecoming Queen Candidates Announced
Heizer Memoribilia Rolling In
Fighting Truancy
Heizer Opens Aug. 15 as Middle School
A-F School Ratings Released by State
Data Specialist Now On Board
Strickland Promoted to Department Director
American Legion Essay Winners Announced
Fifth Place Finish for FHS at Science Olympiad
HHS Office Plans
Teacher Saves Student's Life
School A-F Grading System Flawed
SuperSaturday Polishes Skills
Maddox Scholarship Applications Available
Hardison Taxpayer Watchdog
Band One Big Happy Family
HHS Student Elected Boys State Governor
HHS Names New Principal
New Special Ed Director Announced
Homecoming Queen Candidates Announced
New Role for Calderon
AYP Results Explained
Energy Program Honored
District Hires New Finance Director
Cliff Burch Returns to HMS
Register for CASA Fun Run Here
HHS Students Join Symphony
Two Schools Receive Bilingual Award
Student Wins Regional Essay Contest
Highland Hosts Law Enforcement Activities
McIlroy Earns Doctorate
Superintendent Outlines Redistricting Meetings
Assistant Superintendent Hired
FACT Tour Gets Bond update
Three Elementaries Honored at Capitol
Freshman High School Breaks Ground
Debate Club Gears Up
Andrews Sendoff
49 Teachers Win Grants
Wilson named Athletic Director
Jackson New Mexico Coach of the Year
Six campuses win state maintenance award
Brooks Scholarship Announced
Houston Third at State Science Olympiad
Spring Homecoming Candidates Announced

© 2004 - 2017 SharpSchool