Homecoming Queen Candidates Announced

Homecoming Queen Nominees Announced

        A total of 19 Hobbs High School seniors have been named to the 2011 Homecoming Court. The queen candidates will be introduced at a schoolwide assembly beginning at 2:10 p.m. Friday in Tasker Arena. Three finalists for the crown will be named at that time with the coronation ceremony scheduled for halftime of the Friday night football game vs. Alamogordo. All of the candidates will ride in Friday afternoon’s Homecoming Parade on Broadway.
         The candidates include:

         CADENAGaby Cadena is nominated by the Journalism Club. She is a daughter of Gabriela Cadena and Fernando Cadena and, in addition to working on the Eagle’s Cry, enjoys boxing. She will be escorted by Jose Freddy Avila, a son of Carmen Romero and Manuel Huerta.

           chapparro Ivonne Chaparro is nominated by the football team. She is a member of the drama club, is senior class vice president, participates in choir and track, coaches an Under-7 soccer team and is a Zumba director. Chaparro is the daughter of Rafael and Lucinda Chaparro and will be escorted by J.J. Baeza, a son of Juan Baeza and Martha Cruz.

            claunchKim Claunch is nominated by the Book Club. In addition to reading, Claunch is a member of the HHS marching band and student council. She is the daughter of Ricky and Renee Claunch. Chase Powers, a son of Doug and Maxine Powers, will escort Claunch.

            davisMarissa Davis, nominated by the Drama Club, is the daughter of Jimmy and Stacey Davis. She is a member of student council, the National Honor Society, the Community Playhouse and Choose Life Church Youth Group. In addition, she is a mentor, is the winner of the Maddox Distinguished Scholarship, is captain of the swim team and is senior class secretary. She will be escorted by Jordy Tyler, a son of Jim and Rhonda Tyler.

            estradaAyana Estrada, nominated by Hobbs High School cheerleaders, is the daughter of Javier and Olivia Estrada. In addition to cheerleading, she enjoys reading and dancing. She will be escorted by Austin Bosquez, a son of Jay and Salinda Bosquez.

           linga Katie Lingafelter, nominated by the National Honor Society, is the daughter of Greg and Helena Lingafelter. In addition to NHS, she is district president for the Southeastern District Student Councils and is a Maddox Scholar. She will be escorted by Gage Helms, a son of Teresa and Chuck Landrum.

            hernandezAdrianna Hernandez, nominated by the Spanish Club, is the daughter of Cyndi Hernandez. She also is a member of the student council, the HHS band, the Lea County Women’s Network, St. Helena Catholic Church and is a participant in New Mexico Junior College’s Upward Bound program. Nathan Turrubiates, a son of Alfredo and Neomi Turrubiates, will escort her.

           marquez Karen Marquez was nominated by the student body. She is the daughter of Omar and Elsa Marquez. A member of the Spanish Club, Marquez will be escorted by Aaron Ibarra, a son of Manuel Ibarra.

            masonSamantha Mason, nominated by the HHS Color guard, is a daughter of Robin Mason. She also was a band member for seven years and has a role in the upcoming production of “The Night is My Enemy.” She will be escorted by Adam Valdez, a son of Felix Valdez and Fawnita Golleher.

           negrete Mayra Negrete, nominated by the HHS band, is the daughter of Alejandro and Mayela Negrete. In addition to band, she also is a member of the student council, Art Club, and St. Helena Life Teen group. She will be escorted by Will Raab, a son of William and Cheryl Raab.

 ortega Nancy Ortega, nominated by Accapella Choir, is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Tivo Ortega. In addition to choir, she is a member of the Linam Street Church of Christ. She will be escorted by Josh Ward, a son of Mr. and Mrs. Dudley Ward.

            perezKassee Perez, a HHS varsity football player, is the daughter of Sarah Hester and Manuel Perez. In addition to football, she also is a member of the HHS wrestling team and softball team. Perez will be escorted by Justyn Cano, a son of Vanessa and Martin Cano.

   pinon Stephanie Pinon, nominated by the student body, is the daughter of Sergio and Cecilia Aranda. She is a member of the Spanish Club and attends Choose Life Church.She will be escorted by Diego Rosa, the son of Daniel and Priscilla Rosa.

            reyesAdela Reyes, nominated by Skills USA, is the daughter of Manuel Rodrigo and Gabriela Reyes. In addition to Skills, she also is a member of the HHS band, Art Club and Book Club. She will be escorted by J.D. McAdams, a son of Shauna McAdams and Jason McAdams.

            robinettD’Nae Robinett, nominated by the Art Club, is a daughter of Jim and Stephanie Hardy and Bruce and Jan Robinett. She is treasurer of the Art Club as well as treasurer for the National Honor Society. Robinett is the business manager for the yearbook and executive officer for the senior class. A Maddox scholar and participant in the mentoring program, Robinett also is a member of the student council and Spanish Club. She will be escorted by Brayden Price, the son of Glenn and Teri Price.

            roblesSamantha Robles-Hobbs, nominated by the Debate Club, is the daughter of Crystal and Kendall Map. In addition to debate, she enjoys journalism, hunting and four-wheeling. She will be escorted by Armando Molina, a son of Jesus and Rosa Molina.

     rubioLucy Rubio, nominated by the student body, is the daughter of Julio and Olivia Rubio. She is a member of the Spanish Club and St. Helena Youth Group. She will be escorted by Junior Balderra.

          sanchez  Erica Sanchez, nominated by the yearbook, is the daughter of Richard and Tina Sanchez. In addition to yearbook, she is a student council member and plays varsity soccer. Tyler Janecka, a son of James and Della Janecka, will escort her.

           witherspoon Siera Witherspoon, nominated by the HHS Student Council, is the daughter of Tammy and Allen Witherspoon. In addition to being president of the student council, Witherspoon is vice president of the National Honor Society. A Maddox scholarship semifinalist, the also is a student and assistant teacher and Maciolek School of Dance. She will be escorted by Zac McNabb, a son of Candace and Woody McNabb
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.